Wednesday, December 5, 2012 | Valley Football
Miles Take AFCA Honor

WACO, Texas -- Former Indiana State head football coach Trent Miles, who left the program last week to take the helm at Georgia State, was named the 2012 American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Region Four Coach Of The Year by the national organization.

It marked the second time Miles earned this honor during his five-year tenure as head coach of the Sycamore program, also being honored in 2010. He was also named the Missouri Valley Football Conference Coach Of The Year that same season.

The Sycamores finished the 2012 campaign with a 7-4 record, including a 5-3 mark in MVFC play to finish in a three-way tie for third place in the league. It marked the third consecutive winning season for Indiana State, the first time the program has achieved that distinction since the 1960's.

ISU also rose to as high as No. 14 in the national polls and up to No. 5 in the GridIron Power Index in 2012. The No. 14 national ranking in The Sports Network Top 25 was the Sycamores highest since joining the MVFC in 1987 as well as the highest in the Trent Miles era.

Indiana State led the MVFC in the number of all-conference selections for the second consecutive season with 14 honorees, including five first team selections. The Sycamores also had three named to the MVFC All-Newcomer and All-Academic Teams.

Miles was one of seven honorees in FCS across the five regions of the AFCA. New Hampshire's Sean McDonnell (Region 1), Bethune Cookman's Brian Jenkins & Stony Brook's Chuck Priore (Region 2), Eastern Illinois' Dino Babers (Region 3), Montana State's Rob Ash and Sam Houston State's Willie Fritz also were named AFCA Regional Coaches Of The Year.

Brock Spack of Illinois State and Craig Bohl of North Dakota State, meanwhile, are both finalists for the Sports Network Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year Award.