Monday, August 1, 2011 | Valley Football
UNI Picked to Win Valley Football Title

 Missouri Valley Football Conference defending champion UNI has been picked to win the MVFC crown in 2011. The Panthers received the top spot in a poll conducted by league coaches, media and sports information directors. 

 UNI, which has been ranked in 81-straight regular-season polls, received 316 total points and 29 of 36 first-place votes.  The Panthers were one of three league teams in the FCS playoffs last year and finished the 2010 league slate with a 6-2 mark and outright MVFC crown.

 North Dakota State finished second in the balloting, earning six first-place votes and 275 points.  The Bison also qualified for the FCS playoffs and won two games before falling in the quarterfinals in overtime to Eastern Washington - the eventual national champ.

 Southern Illinois, which finished in a six-way tie for third place last year, received the remaining first-place vote and earned 207 points to finish third in the pre-season balloting.

 The next three spots in the pre-season poll were tightly contested, as four points separated South Dakota State (172), Illinois State (169) and Indiana State (168).

 The last three pre-season favorites (NDSU-2008, UNI-2009, SIU-2010) did not win the league, but a pre-season favorite has claimed the league crown 13 times (in 25 previous polls).


2011 Valley Football Preseason Poll

Team (first-place votes)Points

1. UNI (29)316

2. North Dakota State (6)275

3. Southern Illinois (1)207

4. South Dakota State172

5. Illinois State169

6. Indiana State168

7. Western Illinois151

8. Youngstown State88

9. Missouri State74


2011 Missouri Valley Football Preseason Team

Name, SchoolHt.Wt.Yr.Hometown / Previous School

QB-Tirrell Rennie, UNI6-0201Sr.N. Lauderdale (Fla.) Coconut Creek HS

RB-Jamaine Cook, YSU5-9200Jr.Cleveland (Ohio) Midpark High

D.J. McNorton, NDSU5-10204Sr.Channelview (Texas) High

FB-Brock Lough, INS6-0220Sr.Terre Haute (Ind.) South Vigo High

WR-Jermaine Saffold, MSU6-1198Sr.Grandview (Mo.) High / C. Missouri

Tyrone Walker, ILS5-11200Jr.Indianapolis (Ind.) Cardinal Ritter

TE-Alex Jones, INS6-3235Sr.Centerville (Ind.) High

OL-Bryan Boemer, SIU6-2317Sr.St. Louis (Mo.) Vianney High

Paul Cornick, NDSU6-6311Sr.Orono (Minn.) High

Cal McCarthy, ILS6-2285Sr.Shorewood (Ill.) Minooka High

David Pickard, SIU6-5306Sr.Oak Park (Ill.) High

Andrew Radakovich, YSU6-6315Jr.Steubenville (Ohio) High

Jay Teply, UNI6-7328Sr.Cedar Rapids (Iowa) Xavier

PK-Ryan Jastram, NDSU6-1205Sr.Sioux Falls (S.D.) Roosevelt / NM State


DL-Ben Boothby, UNI6-0280Sr.Clinton (Iowa) High

Coulter Boyer, NDSU6-4248Sr.Hurley (S.D.) High

Eric Brunner, ILS6-2285Sr.Greendale (Wis.) High

Ben Obaseki, INS6-3235Jr.Washington (Ind.) High

LB-L.J. Fort, UNI6-1228Sr.Waynesville (Mo.) High

Josh Howe, ILS6-0235Sr.Chicago Heights (Ill.) Marian Catholic

Michael Lien, SDSU6-0235Sr.Castaic (Calif.) Valencia High

Jacolby Washington, INS6-1235Jr.Deltona (Fla.) Deltona Trinity Christian

DB-Calvin Burnett, INS5-9160So.Orlando (Fla.) Freedom High / Hofstra

Mike McElroy, SIU6-1212Sr.Lowell (Mich.) High

Alex Sewall, INS6-1210Sr.Western Springs (Ill.) Lyons Township

J.J. Swain, UNI6-0170Jr.Burnsville (Minn.) Acad. of Holy Angels

Marcus Williams, NDSU5-11191So.Minnetonka (Minn.) Hopkins High

P-Nick Liste, YSU5-10185So.Niles (Ohio) Niles McKinley High

Kyle Bernard, UNI6-1198Jr.Cedar Falls (Iowa) High

RS-Carlos Anderson, UNI5-8172Jr.Blue Springs (Mo.) High


Honorable Mention:

 QB Matt Brown (Illinois State); QB Ronnie Fouch (Indiana State); RB Chris Douglas (Missouri State); WR Terriun Crump (Western Illinois); WR Marvon Sanders (Illinois State); OL Nick Bledsoe (Illinois State); OL Jonathan Fick (South Dakota State); OL Brian Palangi (UNI); OL Jordan Valle (Western Illinois); PK Pat Smith (Western Illinois); DL Chance Coda (Southern Illinois); LB Aaron Archie (Indiana State); LB James Conley (UNI); LB Preston Evans (North Dakota State); DB Jimmie Strong (Missouri State); DB Andre Martin (UNI); DB Ryan Davis (Western Illinois); P Jordan Chiles (Missouri State); RS Jarred Herring (UNI).