Recent Football News
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Klieman Finishes 5th in Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Balloting
Chris Klieman of North Dakota State represented the MVFC on the STATS FCS ballot for national coach of the year and finished 5th overall.
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Schult Honored at NFF Awards Dinner
Senior Karter Schult was one of 12 outstanding student-athletes honored Tuesday at the 59th National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner as the William V. Campbell Trophy Award finalists.
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Stiegelmeier Honored by AFCA
South Dakota State University head football coach John Stiegelmeier has added to his list of coaching awards during the 2016 season by being named Football Championship Subdivision Region 4 Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association.
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Three MVFC Teams in Round of 8
Three MVFC schools will represent the league in the quarterfinals of the NCAA Division I Football Championship. Five leagues will have representation in the Round of 8 as only CAA Football (2 teams) joins the MVFC with more than a single team remaining.
Monday, December 5, 2016
Bergner a Finalist for Mitchell Award
University of South Dakota senior place-kicker Miles Bergner is one of 10 finalists for the 2016 Fred Mitchell Award, which honors the place-kicker who best excels both on the field and in the community.
Monday, December 5, 2016
SDSU's Rozeboom Finishes 2nd in Rice Award Voting
Duquesne running back A.J. Hines was named Monday as the 2016 STATS FCS Jerry Rice Award winner, edging South Dakota State linebacker Christian Rozeboom by a single vote for the nation's best freshman.
Saturday, December 3, 2016
Valley Football Perfect in the Playoffs on Dec. 3
Valley Football schools went a perfect 3-0 on Saturday in the second round of the NCAA Division I Football Championship as top-seeded North Dakota State, No. 8 seed South Dakota State and Youngstown State all move on to next weekend's quarterfinals.
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Five in MVFC Named Academic All-Americans
Five MVFC student-athletes have been named to the CoSIDA Academic All-America® team, determined by a vote of the College Sports Information Directors of America. Each also earned first-team all-MVFC Academic Team honors.